How Do You Get Rid of a Real Estate Agent

I made the mistake of filling out a questionnaire form on the internet giving a real estate agency my name and phone number.  I had Googled real estate in the city my wife and I are moving to this winter, and a lot of great websites came up.  Of course, it was hard to get a lot of details about the homes without leaving my name and contact information.  So, this realtor from one of the websites called me out of the blue a few months ago.  And, before I knew it, she had stared e-mailing me MLS listings in our price range.

 

Meanwhile, my wife’s friend gave us the name of a real estate agent that she used and recommended.  This lady is highly recommended and seems really interested in our needs and wants in a new house.  Already, I can tell that this friend of a friend is a more professional realtor than the internet one.  There are a few jobs and services that just should not be blindly picked from the Yellow Pages or the internet (doctor, tattoo artist, etc.).  

 

But, now my question is how to let the other real estate agent down easy?  I guess that I’m too nice.  I feel badly that I have kind of led this realtor on for the past few months.  We have not signed an exclusive agreement with one of them yet, but that is coming.  A friend of mine recently told me to just tell her that it was a business decision and nothing personal.  I know he’s right, but I haven’t figured out how to word it yet.  I just have to get over it and make the phone call. 

 

Does anyone have any other tips or suggestions for me to make this easier?

Share and Enjoy: Bookmark and Share Click to Submit Post

3 Responses to How Do You Get Rid of a Real Estate Agent

  1. Jerry says:

    We had to do something similar when we “fired” a nice realtor from church. She just wasn’t getting the job done, because she didn’t work much in the area where we were looking to live. Fortunately, that would simply lead to a frank and quick discussion about what we needed, and then we had the insurance of no hurt feelings down the road. It isn’t easy, but it’s necessary!
    Good luck.
    Jerry

  2. I was in a similar situation when I bought my last house. I simply used both. Both of the agents had expertise in different areas.

  3. Show me a man with a tattoo and I’ll show you a man with an interesting past.

Leave a Reply

  • Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

